About NeSDA

India has seen widespread reforms across different sectors, which can be observed in India’s recognition as the world’s largest fastest growing economy with implementation of comprehensive reforms across almost all socioeconomic sectors to facilitate a high-growth in India. Lately, the use of information and communications technology has been infused into all development initiatives across the globe as it has a great potential to accelerate economic growth of a country.

National eGovernance Service Delivery Assessment (NeSDA) is one such initiative, first of its kind in India. NESDA will be used to assess and benchmark e-government development and public service delivery efficiency in India. This assessment framework will be used as a benchmarking tool to evaluate common services provided to citizens (G2C), business users (G2B) and government (G2G) departments under focus sectors of finance, health, social welfare, education, labour & employment, and environment by all states, Union Territories and respective focus sector Central Ministries.

The key aim of the study is not to rank states, UTs and ministries on their e-governance/e-service delivery performance but to sensitize them on the importance of service delivery efficiency and promote participation of all departments and ministries at state/UT and central level to adopt the e-government framework in their day-to-day functioning to reinforce the vision of MINIMUM GOVERNMENT AND MAXIMUM GOVERNANCE.

The exercise would also help drive innovation and capacity creation to improve public service delivery across the nation.

Key salient features of the assessment are as follows:

  • Help understand the critical role of ICT in e-Governance services development and effective service delivery mechanisms to emulate and learn from best practices put forth by each other
  • Identify areas of strength and challenges in e-governance service delivery and outline future policies and strategies in these areas.
  • Evaluate performance and measure effectiveness of e-government service delivery of common services provided under focus sectors of finance, health, social welfare, education, labour & employment and environment
  • Self-assessment by states, union territories and central ministries using a comprehensive survey assessment questionnaire

Key service assessment areas include:

  • E-government service delivery maturity levels
  • Coverage of services
  • Mobile e-Serviceability
  • Information Security and Privacy
  • User Experience (Ease of Use)
  • Content accuracy
  • Integrated service delivery
  • Social Media Connect